More Group Photos

Group Honors and Awards

Kirill Kovnir

Associate Professor

Iowa State University (2017-present) Scientist, Ames Laboratory (2017-present)
ORCID iD iconorcid.org/0000-0003-1152-1912

Associate Professor
UC Davis (2017)
Assistant Professor
UC Davis (2011-2016)

PDF, Florida State University
(2008-2011)
PDF, Fritz-Haber Institute of MPS,
(2007-2008)
PDF, MPI for Chemical Physics of Solids (2005-2007)
Ph.D. Moscow State University (2004)
B.S./M.S. Moscow State University (2001)

Office: 3122 Hach Hall
Lab: 3252, 3272 Hach Hall
E-mail: kovnir@iastate.edu
Phone: (515) 294-3111

Department of Chemistry
Iowa State University
2415 Osborn Drive
Ames, Iowa 50011-1021

CV in pdf format

Google Scholar profile

Funding:

DOE BES

ACS PRF

NSF MRI

NSF REU

Iowa State University

Researchers & Graduates

Dr. Georgiy Akopov
gakopov@iastate.edu
Postdoctoral Researcher
Ph.D. Chemistry, UCLA (2018)
B.A. Chemistry, Rutgers-Newark, The State University of New Jersey (2014)

Colin Harmer
cpharmer@iastate.edu
Graduate Student
B.S. Chemistry, Penn State (2015)

Shannon Lee
shelee@iastate.edu
Graduate Student
B.S. Chemistry, UC Santa Cruz (2015)

Philip Yox
pyox@iastate.edu
Graduate Student
B.S. in Chemistry and Physics, Concordia University NE (2017)

Eranga Gamage
eranga@iastate.edu
Graduate Student
B. S. Chemistry, University of Colombo Sri Lanka (2016)

Arka Sarkar
arkas@iastate.edu
Graduate Student
M.Sc. Chemistry, University of Hyderabad (2016)
B.Sc. Chemistry, Presidency University, Kolkata (2014)

Gayatri Viswanathan
gayatriv@iastate.edu
Graduate Student
B.S. Chemistry, University of Houston (2017)

Seongyoung Kong
sykong@iastate.edu
Graduate Student
M.S. Chemical Engineering, UNIST (Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technology (2015)
B.S. Chemistry, Chungnam National University (2012)

Utsav Kumar Dey
utsav@iastate.edu
Graduate Student
M.S. Chemistry, Banaras Hindu University (2017)
B.S. Chemistry, St. Xavier's College, Kolkata (2015)

Ernesto Soto
esoto20@iastate.edu
Summer Rotation Graduate Student
M.S. Chemistry, Illinois State University (2020)
B.S. Chemistry, University of Wisconsin-Superior (2017)

Undergraduate students

We welcome talented, motivated,
and hard-working undergraduates
for exciting research in
materials for energy.

Jackson Voyles
jrvoyles@iastate.edu
Undergraduate Student
Iowa State University

Juyeon Won
jwon@iastate.edu
Undergraduate Student
Iowa State University

Nethmi Hewage
nwhewage@iastate.edu
Undergraduate Student
Iowa State University

Benjamin Sanders
sandersb@iastate.edu
Undergraduate Student
Iowa State University

Group Alumni

Dr. Jian Wang
jian.wang@wichita.edu
Postdoc/Scientist in Kovnir's group: 2013-2019
Element - Magnesium
Current: Assistant Professor, Wichita State University

Dr. Kathy Lee
Ph.D. 2016.
1st Ph.D from the Kovnir Group! Element - Hydrogen.
Currently: Technologist at NASA JPL

Dr. Juli-Anna Dolyniuk (aka Johnson)
Ph.D. 2017. Element - Zinc.
Currently: Postdoc at Carnegie Institution of Science

Dr. Joshua Greenfield
Ph.D. 2017. Element - Iron

Dr. Katherine Woo
Ph.D. 2018. Element - Boron
Currently: Systems Engineer at Applied Materials

Dr. Bryan Owens-Baird
Ph.D. 2019. Element - Antimony
Currently: Process Engineer at Progeny Systems

Dr. Justin Mark
Ph.D. 2019. Element - Lithium
Currently: Postdoc at NIMS, Tsukuba, Japan

Joyce Pham
B.S. 2012 UC Davis
Ph.D. 2017 Iowa State University
Currently: Humboldt Fellow at MPI CPfS
1st undergraduate from Kovnir Group to get Ph.D!

Chongin Pak
B.S. 2013 UC Davis
Ph.D. 2018 Florida State University
Currently: Applied Superconductivity Center, National High Magnetic Field Laboratory

Maverick Bellard
Undergraduate Student

Joe Mazzetti
Currently: UCLA graduate Student

Joel Chacko
SULI Undergraduate Student
University of Pennsylvania

Joshua Chang
Undergraduate Student

Jeane Gladys Lo
Undergraduate Student

David Gray
B.S. 2016

Michael Chen
B.S. 2015

Nhon (Ryan) Tran
B.S. 2014 UC Davis

Sarah Synnestvedt
B.S. 2014 UC Davis
Currently: Graduate student
Oregon State University

James Fulmer B.S. 2012
UC Davis
Currently: Texas Department of Public Safety

Group Alumni

Brennan McBride
B.S. 2019 Iowa State University
Currently: Graduate Student,
Colorado State University

Zhengyang Ye
B.S. 2019 Iowa State University
Currently: Graduate Student,
Wichita State University

Bingheng Ji
B.S. 2019 Iowa State University
Currently: Graduate Student,
Wichita State University

Scott Grzybowski
B.S. 2019 Iowa State University

Shannon Heinrich
shannon.heinrich@gmail.com
NSF REU 2016

Kristin Cooke
Currrently: Graduate Student at Western Carolina University

Nezhueyotl Izquierdo
Currrently: Graduate Student at The University of Minnesota

Maximiliano De La Higuera
Macias

Graduate student at McGill University

Andrei V. Olenev
Postdoctoral Research Associate
UC Davis 2012
Currently: SineTh XRD company

Emmanuel Vo
Undergraduate Student

Sonika Sidher
B.S. 2012 UC Davis

Katharina Snyder
Postdoctoral Researcher
Currently: California Energy Comission

Matthew Cheung
Undergraduate Student

Alexander Coffman
Undergraduate Student
UC Davis

Phong Phan
B.S. 2014 UC Davis

High Schoolers

Colin Unger
colindunger@yahoo.com
Undergraduate student at UCSB

Nishad Maskara
Currently: Undergraduate student
Caltech

George Geng
Irvington High School Student
Currently: Undergraduate student
UC Berkeley

Hamza Raniwala
Currently: Undergraduate student
Caltech

Chang Hwan Kwak
Currently: Undergraduate student
UC Berkeley

Ali Keyani
Pioneer High School Student